I couldn’t even wait 2 hours

Okay, I got a Flickr account, but I can’t figure out how to post pictures from it to the blog. Travis is going to have to do talk me down when he gets home, since I obviously have no clue what I’m doing.

Anyway, I spun the entire chunk o’ Yarn Love roving yesterday. I split it in half (I think the roving weighed 110 grams before spinning) and spun up two separate plies. The end result after plying weighs 104 grams, so that’s not bad. I can live with 6 grams left on the bobbin. Here’s a close up of the sexiness:

handspun, baby!

This was the merino/bamboo blend, and it was one of the nicest rovings I have ever spun. It drafted like a dream (sigh…). The bamboo gives it this amazing sheen. I’m pretty happy with it, in case you can’t tell. I haven’t blocked it yet, but pre-blocking the skein measured 104 grams. I have no idea what I’m going to do with it. A shrug, maybe? I could probably do socks, but I think the yarn turned out too pretty and shiny to be relegated to footware.

Also have been plugging away at Travis’ man-sock. I don’t think enough can be said about how this is the first skein of sock yarn that he dyed and the colors are not pooling or striping at all. It’s like when he sat down at the spinning wheel last summer and could just magically spin, even though he had never done it before. Bastard. Anyway, the sock is awesome. The yarn is a little odd – the base yarn is ‘Judy’ by Kraemer yarns, and it’s similar in weight to Glacier, but not quite as soft and a whole heck of a lot stretchier. The skeins are supposed to have 270 yards on them, but I know skeins are measured when they’re stretched out, so I’m sure there’s some yardage loss somewhere. That’s why I decided to knit the socks on size 5 needles. I cast on 44 stitches, which is what I normally cast on for me on size 4 needles with Glacier. I think they’ll be big enough, but I left an extra 2 stitches in (for a total of 46) after I knit the gusset.

Regardless, pretty!

Poo socks!

3 thoughts on “I couldn’t even wait 2 hours”

  1. i love flickr, but it does take a little learning. i’m sure i don’t use it to the fullest of its ability and i’ve been on there for three years or something…

    yay manly sock! and yay stash enhancement. the fun thing is i have a two more packages coming this week… one full of yarn and another is my first from threadless! you’ve started more trends than you know! 😉

    Like

  2. Once you start buying Threadless T’s, it’s all over. We bought like 15 within 2 weeks. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.