A post with lots of pictures!

First, Toby. We took her to New Guy Vet on Thursday, who seemed a tad more competent than New Girl Vet, however the vet’s office was pretty much in disarray. I think it took about 45 minutes after our appointment was scheduled to see the vet, and then another 15 to get the medicine and stuff for her. She’s being treated for Giardia. And of course, as I stopped to Google it just now, I realize that there’s about a billion helpful things that the vet could have told us and didn’t. Anyway, I’ll get started on more Toby maintenance after I get done with the post. She’s on some medicine and a fancy diet (canned food!) right now, but we haven’t seen any sustained improvement yet.

In other, happier, news, I got an early birthday present! Travis hooked me up with the new Nikon D40, complete with a 3 filer Hoya set and a 2 gig SanDisk card. Woot! I’m slowly learning how to use it. In some ways, there are more limits with the D40 than our other camera, the Kodak EasyShare. The zoom isn’t anywhere near as long, and it has some difficulties with macro photography of yarn (something I do a ton of, of course). However, I’m really happy with the color representation so far – that’s where the Kodak would go completely wonky and turn brown into lavender and stuff like that. Also, the continuous shooting feature is awesome. That would drive us nuts with the Kodak, having to wait so long between pictures that you would lose a lot of good photo ops. So basically, the two major things I have a beef with can probably both be solved with the addition of a zoom or macro lens; whereas you can’t really do anything to improve the Kodak.

The Kodak is a great point and shoot, though, and I’m really glad there’s nothing wrong with it so we can continue to use it. It can record video, too, so that’s nice, especially on vacations, as we don’t have a video camera.

Anyway, I’m having a lot of fun trying to figure stuff out with the Nikon. Travis and I have been doing a lot of random driving the past few days which gives me the opportunity to try the camera out in all sorts of different situations.

Dude, this is going to be a long post, so jump over the fold with me – if you care enough, there might be spinning talk all the way at the bottom!

Hi! Welcome to Below the Fold. It’s spooky down here!

Here’s some new photos filled with Nikon-y goodness:

Bela, portrait style:

DSC_0010

This was somewhere around Coshocton. I love this picture:

DSC_0011

The Nikon will save a copy of any pic on the camera in cyanotype, sepia, or black and white, if you want it to. You can adjust the value of the filters as well.

gauge

Action shot of a turkey vulture! I cropped this quite a bit – remember what I was saying about the limited zoom? Fortunately, I’m saving the photos at a 300 dpi resolution. And if I didn’t have continuous shooting available, I would have only gotten one photo – with the Nikon, I think I just held the shutter down and took a total of 7 before the vulture got too far away. I uploaded the two best ones to Flickr. And they’re not great photos, by any means, but I’m pretty happy with them.

vulture1

I just think the color in this photo is awesome:

redsilo

Another action shot, this time of Toby:

tobypounce

And, oh, what’s this? Looks like an FO snuck itself into my Nikon photos section! Naughty socks!

DSC_0019

Socks made out of the same two colors of yarn, Positano and Barnwood, that I used to weave the scarf with. They were made using bits of 5 different skeins of Positano, which explains why the one sock looks a little wonky, but I don’t care, I love them both the same.

Today is the first day of Le Tour de Fleece. I don’t have a Tour goal, I’m just going to set goals for myself daily. Today, my goal was to finish spinning up the Silk Hankie from Hell. Boy, did that suck. I’m all about spinning being relaxing and easy, not difficult and crappy. But I started it, and even though some places are scary-thin, and some places are really slubby, it does look cool, so I had to finish it.

DSC_0017

My goal for tomorrow is to spin up the 4 ounces of wool into two plies.

DSC_0006

I want to do a triple ply, using the silk hankie as one of the plies. I’m going to try and spin the wool pretty thinnish, as I don’t want a thick yarn, but the silk is so thin (in parts) that I’m not sure if you’ll be able to see it at all after its plied. I’m hoping even if that happens, a random shiny slub will appear here and there out of nowhere, because that could look pretty cool.

I also want to try and do a post every day of the Tour, with a progress shot. We’ll see how well that works.

I took a bunch of photos earlier while Travis was spinning on the Babe and also of some yarn that turned out kind of cool, but I think I’ll wait until tomorrow to upload them to give my Flickr account a chance to cool off. 🙂

PS – Hey, Katie, thanks for the cotton washing tip! I think I’m going to try that next time I do a big load!

2 thoughts on “A post with lots of pictures!”

  1. ok, one of these days, just take 23 north ’til you get to toledo, will ya?? 😉

    um, also, i’m ruminating on what i think might be a brilliant collaboration project between me and you and gail… i might have to test a few on my own first, though… what are the best dyes for cotton??

    oh, also… yay new camera!! and i have this thing for old as dirt barns… 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.