If this is what it smelled like during the Black Plague, sign me up!

So, at Epcot Center, you can go up in the big Death Star ball thing they have there on a ride called “Spaceship Earth.” At least, I think that’s what it was called. I should know, because I think I rode it 5 times when we were in Florida last summer. I went to Epcot one day by myself while Travis was doing beer stuff, and it was really hot, as it tends to be in Florida in the summer. To get out of the heat, and since the lines were non-existent for that particular ride, I kept going on it.

It’s a nice, slow, sleepy ride. For some reason, Epcot hasn’t really updated much since I was there with my family in the late 80s. You would think they would have added a few more countries to the World Showcase or made at least a passing reference to current technology on Spaceship Earth, but not so much. So, to get out of the heat (and then a few days later, when I went back to Epcot with Travis and his dad and girlfriend, we rode it to get out of the rain) I rode Spaceship Earth. It’s really long, at least it seems like it lasts around 15 or 20 minutes, and carries you through a Disney-fied version of the history of the planet.

The first or second time I was on it by myself, the ride broke down at the end, right at a really pretty part – there’s a map of the world, at night, it seems like, with pretty white twinkling lights denoting urban areas and purple and green fiber optic shooting star things that I guess were some sort of technology metaphor thing. But it was nice – if the ride had to break down, it broke down right at my favorite part, with all of the pretty and sparkly and some nice retro-future inspiring music playing.

My second favorite part of the ride was as you’re traveling through European history – right when you get to the Middle Ages, a whiff of smokiness permeates the air, and it smelled really good, like a barbecue. When Travis and I were going through it together we were both all, “Mmm, the Middle Ages smells good!”

The point of all of this is that my kitchen smells like the Middle Ages. The last time we went to Whole Foods, we realized that they had just now gotten in some gourmet salts in the cheese section that you can buy by weight. So we got some pink Himalayan salt (mainly because it’s pretty) and some smoked Alderwood salt. I used the Alderwood salt on somthing the other day, I think roasted Garbanzo beans, and now every time I walk in our kitchen I immediately associate it with the Middle Ages. Thanks, Walt. The smoked Alderwood salt is pretty amazing, though, I recommend giving it a shot it you get a chance.

Someday I’m just going to get on here and write a post about all of the things I’m knitting or spinning or whatever without all of the words first. But not today, obviously.

I spun up some of the viscose. I first tried to blend it on the hackle with some tussah silk and black diamond fiber, but the viscose was not wanting to be hackled. I think it would be okay if I used a lot smaller quantities of it in combination with wool or something, but the viscose just did not want to play with the silk and black diamond fiber at all. So I just spun it straight up instead. The first one I spun is called “Koi,” because the colors reminded me of Koi carp. Before spinning:

DSC_0144

After spinning:

DSC_0167

Before:

DSC_0170

After:

DSC_0178

The viscose is pretty cool, and it’s really pretty cheap, too, for fiber. Of course, I haven’t tried blocking those two skeins yet, so I’m not sure how the yarn is going to look post-washing. Koi is a bit more ropey than the purple skein, but they’re both pretty soft and shiny. The purple one is just insanely soft, though – if kind of feels like what you would expect a marshmallow Peep to feel like, it it was made of feathers and fluff instead of marshmallow. It’s late. Maybe I should go to sleep? I’ve got a lot of dyeing to do tomorrow, unfortunately (unfortunately because it’s business stuff, and is a bulk en masse kind of thing, and all I really want to do is play).

3 thoughts on “If this is what it smelled like during the Black Plague, sign me up!”

  1. I didn’t know we sold salt by weight! I will have to check that out. I have pretty much been avoiding the cheese area since I am vegan and all. The store is so big I probably don’t even know half of what we have. 😛

    Like

  2. ooooh, gorgeous! I think I might actually be able to get to your fiber today! it was slated to be enjoyed over the weekend, but we ended up in the hospital with our son Xavier. He had croup which came on very fast and started swelling his esophogus shut. 😦 I think hands down the Jacki fiber would have been a much better choice.

    I’m drooling over your salt stories. We don’t have any place that sells salt like that around here. Bummer. Hey – do you get Cooking Light? My mom got it for me for my birthday and it’s the most enjoyable food magazine I’ve ever seen. They have some seriously good stuff – especially if you’re a foodie. I like the 20 minute dinner section myself.

    Like

  3. OK, what the hell happened in Ohio while I was gone? It’s HOT here. And humid. And the grass grew too–we were planning on it Not growing so our yard wouldn’t look like it was unattended! I took my camera outside this evening (we just got home today) to take a photo of a red-tailed hawk hanging out in the back yard and the lens fogged up! Oh well, good for the garden!
    I was in the Grand Rapids area of Minnesota–very pretty there. We saw a wolf on a hike and were glad we didn’t have zinny-dog with us. She’s a bit unpredictable around other dog-types. Then we drove into Michigan’s Upper Peninsula through Wisconsin. It’s beautiful in the UP. Lake Superior has lots of outdoor rec options, and we plan on going back soon–we were just able to spend one day frolicking. Grand Island is a park with bike trails, hiking trails, and camping, and it sounds great. We took a boat tour of Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, and “picked rocks” on Twelve Mile Beach (where we were buzzed by a twin-rotor military helicoptor with a huge cargo area–bay door was a bit open) and hiked down to Sable Falls. The Dune Saloon (Grand Marais) is a good place for dinner, and they have their own craft-brewed beer. The blue cheese dressing was the best I’ve ever tasted and the cherry wheat beer was great. Lots of camping spaces everywhere. It was a 12 hour drive home from Munising, MI, but there are lots of places to stop in between–Mackinaw (right before the bridge to the Upper Peninsula) had this great bakery where we got a few buttermilk sticks–doughnuts made with buttermilk. We got a few, then realized they were still warm, and delicious, crusty on the outside and soft and steamy on the inside, so Andrew went in and got more. They were to die for! It may be a possibility for your fall trip! A beautiful time of year in that area!

    Like

Comments are closed.