Happy Alternate Reality Day!

Ever have one of those days where you wake up in an alternate reality? Today was one of those, because when I clicked on the news this morning, I saw this headline:

Karl Rove to Resign

Whaaaaaa?! Blink. Why, instead of filling me with joy, does this just seem really ominous to me? Like I said, alternate reality day. Although I had to laugh when I read that one of the first things he was going to do after leaving the White House was go dove hunting. “I’m gonna shoot me some a those peace birds!”

Anyway, political unease aside, Travis’ Mom and Bob came into Columbus yesterday for a quickie visit. We went to the Cheesecake Factory and ate like pigs. I am getting to be really kind of disturbed about portion sizes in restaurants, though. It seems like so much food goes to waste. Travis got a burrito that could have easily have fed 4 people (not an exaggeration). Maybe it just seems obscene to me because we were coming from an hour away, and had no way to take our leftovers home. Hopefully most people do.

We also stopped at the Container Store and got to see Lizzie, which was cool. We were talking about getting together some people and making a road trip to the Ikea in Pittsburgh, which would rock. We could make little Swedish flags and attach them to the antennas of our vehicles so everyone would know we were in a caravan and stay the hell out of our way. “They’re Swedish! Look out!”

Hey! An FO!

DSC_0458

It’s the seed stitch scarf I knit out of the crazy orange glam rock handspun from last month. I love it. It was a lot of fun to knit since the texture and color of the yarn kept changing. It still needs blocked, though.

Also started on the Spiral Boot Socks by Veronik Avery in the summer’s Interweave Knits. I’m knitting them out of the incredible purple and green handdyed yarn that Travis dyed.

DSC_0483

DSC_0484

I love this yarn. The pattern is pretty cool, too, but I have to say it’s one of my worst thing when a pattern repeat ends in a YO. So irritating.

File this under the “Jacki is clueless” category – For a week or so I’ve been going to Lime and Violet’s Daily Chum, waiting to see when new content is posted. A few days it finally occurred to me to scroll down past the first post, which is apparently stickied to the top. A whole plethora of new content lay beneath! I’m a giant dumbass! Anyway, the Daily Chum is awesome, and I’ll be checking it out, well, daily, now that I’ve figured out the magic scroll button on my mouse.

Karida has tagged me as a Rockin’ Grrl Blogger. I’m not entirely sure what all that entails, but it sounds like I can go out and kick ass at will, so it’s all good to me! I’m crafty and I’m armed with DPNs of Doom!

Finally made another Threadless order (I say finally because I’ve had a gift certificate and some Street Points to burn up). I’ve had this shirt in my cart for a few weeks now:

The Leftover - Threadless, Best T-shirts Ever

I really like it because: A. It’s on asphalt, and the other Threadless shirt I have on asphalt is my favorite one, and B. It reminds me of Fallout, which, without question, is the best computer game of all time. And if anyone challenges me on this assertion, I will not hesitate to fling my ninja DPNs at them.

But today I saw that they’ve decided to print one of the best designs ever to be submitted to Threadless, made by my favorite designer, nesk:

A Birth Day - Threadless, Best T-shirts Ever

I’m not sure why it didn’t win the Eagle vs. Shark competition, since it scored a lot higher than the shirt that won, but at least it was printed.

Also decided to get this, since I liked the design placement, and look! A penguin!

FrequenCity - Threadless, Best T-shirts Ever

Besides getting a bunch of skeining done this week (suck!) I’m planning on continuing to knit the boot sock, reading my Six Wives of Henry the VIII book (interesting!) and maybe working on getting some more fiber dyed. I dyed a bunch of cultivated silk noils, some sparkle fiber, and some nylon this weekend. I’m working on building a fiber library, so whenever I want to make some crazy combed fiber balls I have a bunch of stuff already dyed to choose from.

eta – I just checked my Ravelry invite stats and it turns out there’s only 42 people ahead of me in line!  Woot!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Happy Alternate Reality Day!”

  1. When I saw Karl Rove resigned, my first thoughts were “what are they up to?” I’m happy he is going but scared of what he has brewing in the caldrum.

    On a happier note, I love that container store and cheesecake factory in Easton. Before my friend moved to NYC, I used to visit all the time. I used to order the chicken club and save half for breakfast (minus the fries) and take home the cheesecake. The portions everywhere are too big. I’d like to keep my healthy BMI. 🙂

    I’m so glad Travis gave (wink wink) you that yarn cause you are gonna have some kick butt socks!

    Like

  2. I thought you were neat to begin with. Now that I know you think Fallout is the best computer game ever, you just bumped yourself up big time! That game rocks!!!

    Like

  3. Yeah, I kind of just confiscated that yarn from Travis. 🙂 And Fallout kicks so much ass – every year Travis and I hope that another game is going to come out that’s going to be as much fun to play as that, and we’re always disappointed. *Love* Fallout!

    Like

  4. I thought someone told me they were building an ikea in Cinci. If you do go, be sure to take water in with you or something, that store is huge and you may need some rations. At least the one in AZ was. I didn’t like going in there because it seemed like there was no end to the store.

    I like the idea of a fiber library, that is kind of what I have been trying to do too. In the past when I wanted to spin or knit something at midnight, because that is when inspiration strikes, I wouldn’t have the stuff I needed and then the inspiration would be gone in the morning.

    Like

Comments are closed.