Whither my soul?

Travis and I set up a new bank account today, and I think we lost our souls in the process. We were at the bank for over 2 1/2 hours. 2 1/2 hours! Is this normal now? Stupid Homeland Security. Anyway, at least it’s done. If we manage to do one adult-type thing in a week, then I figure we’re doing pretty good.

Anyway, since the banking fiasco took so long, our day kind of got all screwed up. I just now finished all of the skeining I had wanted to do today. So now the Loopy Ewe order is all skeined up, and that’s one albatross off my shoulders. I haven’t been able to do much fun stuff in the way of spinning or knitting the past few days because I wanted to get that order all finished up, but hopefully I’ll be able to do more fun stuff in the coming days. It feels like I haven’t spun in weeks, although I know that’s not the case.

I was able to do a little more stuff with the jewelry stuff last night. I made some earrings:

woodearrings

And a necklace:

retrofuturenecklace1

I’m calling it the Retro-Future necklace because I wanted to do something kind of spacey, and I always like a silver/gray and lime color scheme. The jump rings are niobium, which are really cool. I bought Travis some niobium rings last Christmas, but didn’t realize that they were going to be so small (a lot smaller than his other chainmail rings). As a result, I think this might be the first time they’ve really been used in something. Nothing like buying someone a Christmas present and then using it yourself. Sorry, Travis!

I have ideas for doing a bunch of other things (god knows I have the beads) but I’m going to wait until tomorrow to start anything else. Tonight, my big plan is to watch Mad Men and start knitting the second boot sock. Big exciting plans here at chez Yarnzombie!

2 thoughts on “Whither my soul?”

  1. Wow! It ddnt take us that long to buy our house! A solid 10 minutes of signing our names five zillion times, maybe, but then we were done!
    Cool beadwork. I’me going to google niobium now.
    I’m also reading a D. Starkey book– Elizabeth: The Struggle for the Throne. It’s rushed through the first 13 years of her life and I’m at the Thomas Seymour Incident under Katherine Parr’s “protection” after Henry’s death. A little light bed time reading!

    Like

  2. Well, I’m up to Katherine Howard in the ‘Six Wives of Henry the VIII.” After I get done with this, I’m starting “I, Elizabeth” by Rosalind Miles. It’s styled as a novel rather than a biography, so I’m hoping in the novel, at least, Elizabeth manages to score once or twice. 🙂 Let me know how you like the Starkey book.

    Oh, and the hop/egg recipes were weird! Who would have thought? But the peanut butter in the banana bread sounds luscious…

    Like

Comments are closed.