Roadtrip, anyone?

Spiral Boot Socks?

bootsocks2

Check.

Better Hubble yarn photos?

Hubble1

DSC_0568

Check.

We’ve actually gotten not too much rain here, compared to the deluge up north, so we’ve been pretty lucky. The forecast for the next week is “High in the low 90s, 60% chance of thunderstorms,” which translates into “Armpit weather.” I swear, I have no idea how people live in Florida.

So, Katie (and she’s north of me, so check out her blog for rain pictures) was telling me that Shannon Okey was trying to get together an evil plot to organize a bus trip to Rhinebeck. So I wrote to her and was all, “Oooh! Oooh! I want to go!” like a little wool fangirl. She wrote back and said that they’re just waiting for the okay from the bus company, but it seems like the trip is going to go through. She said that it was cool for me to start rounding up a posse and linking to the website – as soon as they have the details, they’ll post them there.

Details are sketchy – well, non-existent, really – at this time, but the gist of it is that the bus would leave from Cleveland (I’m assuming at least somewhere in the Cleveland area) on the evening of Friday, Oct. 19 and drive overnight to New York. Then it’ll be Wool! Shopping! Extravaganza! all day Saturday, and the bus would depart Rhinebeck that evening, driving back to Ohio overnight. So, if you think you can get those days free, don’t mind spending 48 hours in the same clothes, and want to spend a ton of money on roving and yarn (and I know I do!), start planning. I’m not sure on the cost yet, but I’m hoping all of the details will become available in the next few weeks. Anyway, if the bus is going, I’m going, too. I’ve never been to a big fiber show (the Wool Gathering in Yellow Springs has been the biggest one I’ve attended), and hadn’t even considered that there would be a way for me to attend one this year. Rhinebeck is just 2 weekends after our vacation is over, but Travis said he would take off work if he had to and watch the dogs, so yay!

Speaking of Travis, he’s been working on his rest this past week, which really sucks. Since he works on call, that means he’ll come home, be here for about 8-10 hours, and then immediately get called to go back to work. We’ve got a lot of family/time-off stuff coming up in the next few months, though, so it’ll balance itself out. I have been getting a lot of stuff done, though – a lot of work stuff, knitting, etc. Today I combed up over 5 ounces of this:

DSC_0590

I would like to try and get an Etsy shop going here in the next few weeks, so I’m going to start stockpiling roving balls so I have stuff to sell. 🙂

Oh, we may start building an actual website at this address (yarnzombie.net), so if you ever come onto the blog and everything’s different, don’t freak out. We’ll have a link to the new address of the blog on the front page. I’m not entirely sure what I want to do yet. All I know is that my attempts at drawing a little zombie knitter are going miserably. I’d be better off with my dream owl.

8 thoughts on “Roadtrip, anyone?”

  1. You make the prettiest roving Jacki! I started spinning yours up last night….I know, so late, but life has been getting in the way! Love your socks! How do you knit so fast woman? You’re amazing!

    Hey I found this t-shirt today via the Threadless newsletter….you probably have already seen it, but it reminded me of you. Not that you’re an eskimo, but I could definitely see you tending to a garden full of colorful yarn balls! Anyhoo, here’s the link:
    http://www.threadless.com/product/953/Polar_Gardening

    Like

  2. Yay for the Etsy shop! You’d better stockpile away!

    I’ll be headed in the exact opposite direction on Rhinebeck weekend, but knowing that I’ll be able to live vicariously through all of y’all will be a good second best.

    Like

  3. Yes, I am going to need some roving! I’ll be checking out your store very soon. I walked into the Needling Yarn last week and Kim announced the fall schedule was out and she had signed me up for spinning class, and signed me up to rent a wheel (I’ve been pestering her for weeks or months now). So, fun planned for October! I’m still pondering the Rhinebeck thing, but a car-pool road trip sounds cool. Andrew loves the new camera. It’s a D-80, and he’s already talking about different lenses for it. His old-fogey Nikon lenses work, but there’s something about the light metering that doesn’t work right–or something. I don’t know anything about “real” cameras. I traded my real 35-mm manual Canon with several lenses to my brother in college, in return for a guitar, and have never regretted it! My arm is actually not so painful now, oddly my biggest complaint is the sling, which I chose to forego today. My neck is killing me. I’m going to have to knit myself something more comfy. I won’t have a cast, so I’ll keep mobility, which is important. Maybe something like a splint-cozie or seven for the seven days of the week. That would be kitschy, but would add some bling to my otherwise boreing wardrobe!

    Like

  4. That sounds like a super-fun trip! I’m supposed to go to DC to visit some friends that weekend, though…
    your combed roving is beautiful! Love the colors!
    So what is this Wool Gathering in Yellow Springs you speak of?

    Like

Comments are closed.