The people we see, the food we eat, and the things we knit

My mom just left. This weekend was awesome. We did a bunch of really fun stuff, ate a lot of really amazing food, got to see people we hadn’t seen in a while, and I got some knitting done, too!

My mom showed up on Thursday afternoon, and Travis came home from Columbus that day after stopping off at Whole Foods and buying an obscene amount of deli food.

DSC_1184

The next day, we went to Jungle Jim’s near Cincinnati. It’s about a 3 hour drive for us, so Travis and I maybe only go once a year. My mom had never been before. It’s one of those places where you can get completely overwhelmed and lose track of what the heck you’re doing, so we took it slow, stopping halfway through our shopping to go and eat lunch. Travis posted all about our Jungle Jim’s trip, so you can see what he has to say and see the pictures he took here. Here are some of the highlights:

Candy:
DSC_1240

Other:
DSC_1243

I also did my traditional hunting and gathering of canned garbanzo beans from around the world:
DSC_1236

I normally roast my garbanzo beans (or chickpeas, if you will) after drizzling them with olive oil and sprinkling some spices on them. Roast them at 350 degrees for about 40-45 minutes, and they should come out crisp on the outside and squishy in the middle. But my mom got some chickpeas that had been prepared differently at Jungle Jim’s – they had been glazed with a combination of honey, lime, garlic, salt, and some other seasonings, and then roasted. Absolute perfection. I’m going to try to replicate those.

On Saturday, we went to the Wool Gathering in Yellow Springs. I saw a lot of people I knew, including Rebecca from Water’s Edge (I got the cutest Fimo stitchmarkers from her!) and Dianne, the hardest working woman in the yarn business, from Yarns Forever. I wound up spending a ton of money at Dianne’s booth – I’ll try to get a pic later of the yarn and fiber I bought there. There are three skeins that looked really happy together, so I want to try and weave something awesome out of them.

Lizzie and Terry were there, as well as Yarmando, Gerald, KnitSB, and their friend (Jeff? Is that his name? It’s all a blur. All I remember was that he was very funny and didn’t knit πŸ™‚ ). We all had lunch together. Later on, my mom said she wanted to be Gerry’s best friend. πŸ™‚ Travis has a bunch of Wool Gathering photos posted here, but I had to post this picture of Yarmando’s Seaweed Sock just because it looked so pretty in the sunlight.

100_5485

After the Wool Gathering, we went to North Market. Travis got to drink some beer at the microbrew festival they were having, and my mom and I had the best ice cream ever. We got it at Jeni’s in North Market. It was Bartlett Pear Riesling Sorbet, and it was absolutely spectacular. I don’t think I’ll ever have an ice-cream related product that good again. After we recovered from the sorbet, we wandered around the short north for a while. Lots of restaurants there. We found the Happy Greek, which I’d like to try sometime (Sarah Lou, how do you feel about Greek food?).

On Sunday, we did some miscellaneous food shopping, but the highlight was probably breakfast, which we had at the Starliner Diner. It’s a Cuban-fusion dive in Hilliard, and Travis is all excited because you can get food to go – since it’s only about 5 minutes away from his work, he’s going to start picking up food there now, I think. Anyway, I got cuban french toast, which was kind of like battered, deep-fried bread nuggets dusted with powdered sugar and topped with fruit. My mom got some crabcake thing which was apparently pretty awesome (I tend to avoid the crab, so I didn’t try it), and Travis got chilaquiles with chorizo and eggs. That was amazing. I’m really looking forward to going back there again.

Here’s the 3 knitted FOs from this weekend, too. First off, finished Tibetan Socks:
DSC_1176

Then, my nephew Tyler wanted Halloween socks. He’s also starting called socks “foot sweaters.” So, here are some finished Halloween foot sweaters for Tyler:
DSC_1246

And finally, here’s a hat I knit out of handspun that Travis spun during Le Tour de Fleece:
DSC_1265

I started and finished that hat on the way to the Wool Gathering on Saturday. Woo hoo!

eta – Hey, I’m entirely not with it, and had no idea the new Knitty was out (don’t make fun of me, please).Β  Anyway, just wanted to call your attention to the fact that YarnLove Katie has an article in it about plying.Β  Yay, Katie!Β  And if you have anything else in this issue of Knitty, well, I haven’t gotten to it yet, but rest assured I will pimp you out again if you do.Β  πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “The people we see, the food we eat, and the things we knit”

  1. i’m super good with greek. mmm…

    those tibetan socks kick ass, as do the halloween foot sweaters (i’m so going to copy tyler, i hope he doesn’t mind)… i assume the first pair was a good fit? i need to make some nephew socks (age 5 and 3), care to share any tips?

    the hat is beautiful, too!

    yay food and fiber and family and fun! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Hi Jackie,
    It was great meeting you again. I know we didn’t get to talk much so can you please email me off line at info@creativelydyedyarn.com

    Oh I added you to my blog. Oh and those sock look so good I wanted to make them but I’ve got so many other projects I’m trying to finish before stitches east. After stitches it’s all about ME.

    Like

Comments are closed.