I am not your broom

It’s Saturday night, and I find myself getting sucked into YouTube madness. Before that, though, here are the Dirty Hippie Knee Socks!pumpkinkick

And yes, the shoes I’m wearing are the uber-cute shoes I got under Sarah Lou’s influence. šŸ™‚

Here’s the yarn I recently spun, which I’m calling Aunt Dorie because it kind of reminds me of her for some reason, and I think I’m going to weave a scarf with it for her:

DSC_4531

The picture is a bit off in terms of color. The lighting was bad. Anyway, one ply is wool and the other ply is tussah silk, so it has a bit of a nice sheen to it. I’m looking forward to getting the loom warped since I haven’t woven anything in a few months. A scarf out of bulky handspun should go pretty quick.

I’m plugging along on my Christmas knitting. I just got another gift done. I need to take photos of everything so after Christmas I can upload my Completed Christmas projects to Flickr and Ravelry.

I’m looking forward to being all productive this coming week, what with all of the dyeing, spinning, knitting, and weaving I’m plotting. I’m also going to try and remember to make some pizza dough to freeze so Travis and I can replicate our camping calzones.

Anyway, I got sucked into YouTube tonight after I saw the video for They Might Be Giants’ “The Mesopotamians” (which, ironically, does not seem to be on YouTube). Travis got me into listening to the Giants when we first started going out, but we kind of have gone off them a bit, since some of the albums in the past 2 or 3 years have been just kind of meh. However, I like what I’ve heard from the new one, so we’ll probably have to get that. Anyway, when we were living together in Muncie in our little efficiency apartment across from campus, I remember waiting for, seriously, hours to get this tiny little video to load off of the TMBG website. We had Earthlink dial-up at some sort of forever slow speed. It sucked the life out of us, but it was so worth it, because this? Is awesome.

Other goodies from the TMBG bin – the Giants performing “The Sun Is A Mass of Incandescent Gas” on Nickelodeon:

And some kid’s high school history project – a really great video set to the Giants’ “James K. Polk.”

And I’ll just link to the last one. Someone made a fan video that basically sums up this last season of Lost and sets it to music by TMBG. Strange, yet kind of cool. Anyway, enjoy the Giants and have a great Sunday!

4 thoughts on “I am not your broom”

  1. *evil cackle*

    karen bought shoes today, under my influence, as well! i still haven’t found a pair of black mjs that i’m in love with, but i’m sure i’ll know them when i see them! šŸ™‚

    are you going to make calzonessogoodwecry for super! crafty! day! ?!? i’d chip in for those!! šŸ˜‰

    Like

Comments are closed.