Strike! Strike!

I’m steadily making progress on the second Red Stripe sock.

redstripesole

I’ve got about a 1/3rd of the foot and the toe left to do, and then Travis will have two! Yay! I’m trying to get it done so he can have shiny new socks for Craftstravaganza. Oh, and Becky, the pattern is something I’m working up as I go. The main difference from this to regular top-down/heel flap socks is that the gusset is shaped on the sole of the foot. And I’m also doing an anatomically correct toe, too. But besides that, it’s just a basic sock, really.

Speaking of Travis, he’s made the Etsy plunge and has put a few of his chainmaille bracelets up for sale. His Etsy shop is inexplicably called Pepe Rides Again and you can check it out here. Here’s a picture of 3 of the bracelets he’s made recently:

chainrocks

The one in the middle isn’t up in the shop yet, as Travis is working on trying to get some photography stuff figured out. But anyway, if you have the sudden need to buy chainmaille related jewelry, now you know where to go.

I’ve been following the ongoing Writer’s Guild Strike with a lot of interest. I’m very pro-writer, not only because I’m the wife of a Teamster (which I think is really cool, and hey, the Teamsters are out there supporting the WGA members right now, which is cool, too), but just because I think the screenwriters are getting royally screwed. I don’t know why every business can’t be run like Costco is. Anyway, the strike is unfortunate in that it shuts down production on The Office, my favorite TV show, but hey – the writers need to get fair pay for their work. Here’s a video featuring Toby, Ryan, and Kelly from the office (they’re writers and actors on the show) and some other Office writers explaining what’s going on:

I watched that and was all, “Seriously? Seriously?!” The writers never got paid for the webisodes? For those not familiar with the webisodes, they were cute little 4 and 5 minute mini Office episodes posted on the NBC website during the summer hiatus between seasons 2 and 3. For Office junkies, they were much welcomed and viewed. A new webisode would get posted every week, and you had to watch a 30 second Office Max or FedEx/Kinko’s commercial before you could get to the Officey bits. I thought it was really cool that NBC was kind of tipping their hat to the big online Office community by doing this. But now I just think it’s completely skeevy because the writers didn’t get paid for doing them.

If you watched the video, they talk about how the networks view internet showings of shows “promotional,” even though they sell advertising time during them. I know I watch some shows online, as do friends and family of mine – honestly, I just kind of figured that the TV as a single appliance was going to become pretty much obsolete in the next 15 years. Yet, the networks refuse to funnel any of the income they get from internet “promotional” screenings of their shows to the writers, without whom, of course, the show wouldn’t exist. A commenter on Alan Sepinwell’s blog brilliantly summed it up by saying, “Isn’t it kind of hypocritical that on one hand the studios and networks say that unauthorized downloading or copying of content is “stealing,” because you’re taking something of value — but on the other hand, they say the writers don’t deserve residuals, because the content is valueless? Or now they’re even saying that downloads are “promotional” — in which case they should be paying hackers to copy DVDs and redistribute content on the Net.”

Anyway, if you’re interested in following the strike, here are some good links to check out:

LA Times Showtracker.

Deadline Hollywood Daily

United Hollywood (I think this is the Writer’s Guild blog)

Enjoy the rest of the day, and don’t cross any picket lines!

One thought on “Strike! Strike!”

  1. That is cool jewelry! I gave him a heart 😀

    I so agree with the double standard. They need to make up their minds, can’t have it both ways. That would be the equivallent of saying that if you sell something at a craft show, you get to keep the profits, but if you sell it on Etsy then the profits go to Etsy. How crazy would that be! Nobody would sign up for that!!

    I love watching shows on the interenet because I can watch them when the kids won’t be interupting me and I think that the writers should get payed the same whether the program is broadcast or downloaded!

    Like

Comments are closed.