In lieu of Christmas music

I’ve spent the day listening to A Tribe Called Quest’s 1993 album, Midnight Marauders. That’s right, old school hip hop, y’all!

That got me in the mood to do some fun spinning this morning. I’m guessing that since the weather forecast is calling for rain/ice/snow, lather, rinse, repeat over the next week, the humidity will be up and it’ll be a good time to work with fiber without becoming a huge static ball. Since the little bit that I have been spinning lately has all been thin stuff to make 2-ply sock yarn, I spun up some wool roving I dyed a few weeks ago into a bulky yarn – I’m guessing it’ll probably be knit with size 9 or 10 needles, but it may poof up even more than that. It’s hard to tell when it’s still on the bobbin.

DSC_5624

Then I combed up some superwash roving and added sparkle and nylon to it. Here’s a close up of one of the roving balls:

DSC_5627

It looks like sparkly sherbert! I spun up the first half of this roving (I think I came out with 4 3/4 ounces total of it) this morning.

DSC_5637

I think this is going to look wicked cool once it’s all plied. This is the first time I’ve spun some of the combed roving this thin. It took a little bit to get used to, but I hope the resulting yarn will be thin enough to use for socks. If not, I’ll figure out something else to do with it.

I’m looking forward to the impending winter storm mess, you know, providing that it doesn’t bring chaos and devastation to everything I know and love. I haven’t put up any Christmas lights outside yet, but maybe the snow will be all festive and pretty I can’t resist (or, again, maybe it’ll be an icy mess of doom!).

4 thoughts on “In lieu of Christmas music”

  1. That winter storm mess is headed this way tomorrow night–I can’t wait! (D#1 gets dropped off for carpool at the top of a very steep hill… this should be just what I need, given my automotive woes in 2007). I love love love the sparkly sherbet (and so does d#2, who was looking over my shoulder when the post came up).

    Happy December!

    Like

  2. We are ice city right now. Yuck! I’ve spent the whole day watching movies and knitting. It’s been so long since I’ve done that.

    The spinning looks fantastic.

    Like

  3. we had nothing but cold rain this weekend, It was beautiful!!

    I think that is the first photo of a sparkly fiber that actually made me think “Oh, me too!!” It looks so fun and fuzzy 😀

    Like

  4. oh jackie!!! *melts into puddle of sparkly loving goodness*

    that fiber/yarn is soooooooooooooooooo dreamy…

    with the weather as it was on saturday and probably more on the way, will we see a return of the knitting raft? ’cause i am so up for a retreat to that hideaway in january or some time after all the holiday hooplah is over. i can’t wait to see some of your holiday gift knits!

    stay warm and safe down there, you all!

    Like

Comments are closed.